Spiritual Themes

First Unitarian began using spiritual themes during the 2010-2011 church year. Each month, from September to May, we center our worship and reflection on one important spiritual theme or idea. The themes range from “Joy” to “Death” and from “Justice” to “Salvation.” Our Learning Community, Adult Education Program and Social Justice leaders often reference the themes as they apply to their ministries.

After  three years, we return to the original themes and begin the cycle again. Every time we return offers an opportunity for us to go deeper with each theme, to remember what we learned (if you were attending First Unitarian during previous cycles) and, more importantly, to search for what these religious ideas mean in our lives today. Look for expanded Resources Packets on each theme with new readings and poetry for reflection.

 2015-2016 Church Program Year

 May, 2016: Calling
 April, 2016: Authority 
 March, 2016: Freedom
 February, 2016: Salvation 
 January, 2016: Death
 December, 2015: Faith 
 November, 2015: Transformation
 October 2015: Commitment 
 September, 2015: Grace

2014-2015 Church Program Year

pdfMay, 2015: Mercy  
 April 2015: Redemption   
 February 2015: Love
 January, 2015: Creation
 December, 2014: Prayer
 November, 2014: Gratitude
 October, 2014: Evil
 September, 2014: Vision

2013-2014 Church Program Year

 May, 2014: Peace
 April, 2014: Resurrection
 March, 2014: Devotion
 February, 2014: Joy
 January, 2014: Justice 
 December, 2013: Hope
 November, 2013:Gratitude
 October, 2013: Community and Covenant

 September, 2013: Forgiveness

2012-2013 Church Program Year

May, 2013: Calling
April, 2013: Authority
March, 2013: Freedom
February, 2013: Salvation
January, 2013: Death
December, 2012: Faith
November, 2012: Transformation
 October 2012: Commitment 
September, 2012: Grace

2011-2012 Church Program Year

May, 2012: Mercy
 April, 2012: Redemption
March, 2012: God
February, 2012: Love
January, 2012: Creation
December, 2011: Prayer
 November, 2011: Evil 
 October, 2011: Gratitude 
 September, 2011: Vision

2010-2011 Church Program Year

 May, 2011: Peace
April, 2011: Resurrection/Rebirth
March, 2011: Truth
February, 2011: Joy

January, 2011: Justice
December, 2010: Hope

 November, 2010: Gratitude
October, 2010: Community/Covenant 
September, 2010: Forgiveness